Turkish ice-cream and collectible toy cars

The rain didn’t stop us participating in a rural “festival” at Heisei No Mori Park in Kawajima Town.  The event is called a festival in Japanese, but in reality it is more like what we call a fair or fête in Ireland.  There were stalls selling local produce, a lottery stand, a games corner and a stage set up for performances. It was interesting to find a Turkish vendor there, selling kebabs and Dondurma; Turkish style ice cream, pictured below. Another surprising find was that a well known toy collector had a stand set up.  We struck up a conversation with the head honcho, who very kindly advised us on a sound investment of a 1970′s Tomica with box and brochure included.  Supposedly, it will more than triple its value before my son’s 21st birthday!

The festival at Heisei No Mori park is held every year in November. It starts at 9am and usually runs to about 2pm.  The main stalls are food vendors.  What I liked about the festival is that the stalls are all set up around the park’s main playground.  The kids could play in my line of sight, while I browsed the various stalls. It is a small fair, but it is friendly and fun with a few freebies to boot!

About Elle

Blogging about pregnancy, motherhood and life in Japan; https://daysofourlivesjapan.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Japan, Kawajima, Play a day, Things to do in Saitama and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Turkish ice-cream and collectible toy cars

  1. It’s good to be able to browse and know the little ones are safe. You reminded me of when I once took all four of my little ones Christmas shopping and they wanted to do some secret shopping. I bought them helium balloons, tied them around their wrists and let them go around the floor on their own! I’m not sure I would do that now; it was 30 years ago but a lovely memory that you brought to mind.

    Hope all is well with you and yours :)

  2. What a great idea for a blog. If I lived in Japan, it would be very useful!

    • Elle says:

      Thank you so much. I am finding it difficult to find the time to post recently, but I will keep it going a little at a time! I LOVE your blog! Thank you for posting the shimajiro videos! My kids love the mushiba one. And I really like your crafts. We are going to try the paper yoyos.

All feedback, comments and questions are most welcome.

