Alice in Wonderland theme restaurant, Ginza branch

I was very excited to visit Alice in a Labyrinth, the Ginza branch of the Alice in Wonderland Japan restaurants earlier in the year. I was sorely disappointed. I had a great night, but that was due to the company of wonderful friends and little to do with the quality or atmosphere of the restaurant. The lighting is very dark, the space is very cramped and the food is bordering on awful. However, the presentation of the food, the character dressed staff and the decor are fun and something different and the desserts are the only delicious thing on the menu.

I had hoped that it might be suitable to bring the kids for a fun dining experience, but it is not suited to young children. There is no room for a buggy (stroller), there are no changing facilities and as far as I am aware they don’t have high-chairs. Older primary school and junior high school children might enjoy it though. There is a big tea-cup booth in the main section of the restaurant.  There are a few private booths and the rest are regular tables. I don’t have much else to say, except the website is fairly horrendous too. You can check it out for yourself here; http://www.alice-restaurant.com/meikyu/index.htm

Here are some photos we took that night;

4-Salad with dressing in a tea cup 3-Cat ice-cream from the front2-Cat ice-cream 1-Alice waiting staff 5-Chesire cat pasta 1-Mouse Ice-cream


Tokyo 2020 Olympics

About Elle

Blogging about pregnancy, motherhood and life in Japan; http://daysofourlivesjapan.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Food, Tokyo and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Alice in Wonderland theme restaurant, Ginza branch

  1. Pingback: Theme cafes, restaurants and buffets for kids in Tokyo | Life in Japan with toddlers

  2. It’s too bad that the atmosphere and food wasn’t good, I love themed restaurants!

    • Elle says:

      I know, I was so disappointed! But it was still fun I suppose. Maybe one of their other branches is nicer. I think I might have to go and find out!!

      Thank you for your comment ☆:-)

  3. dweezer19 says:

    You’ve convinced me. If ever I get to Japan, that won’t be on my list. I know I would have been disappointed too, especially where the children’s experience is concerned.

    • Elle says:

      It would be a waste, especially when there is so much else on offer and of much better quality and ambience. Lots of other great photo opportunities too ;-)

All feedback, comments and questions are most welcome.

